Don't click or your IP will be banned Dickey Betts

 Home · Tour Dates · Guest Book · Forum · Links · Pictures    Login or Register


Navigate
 HOME
 Tour Dates
 Guest Book
 Forum
 Chat
 Merchandise
 Media Gallery
 Music
 Links
 Radio Betts
 Reviews
 Set Lists
 Tape Trading

 FACEBOOK
 YOUTUBE
 TWITTER

 Your Account
 Private Messages
 Members List
 Search
 Login
 Logout

Radio Betts
Currently Playing

-

[more song info]

Buy this CD now!


Next: Dickey Betts Band

[recently played]

[submit request]

[listen!]


Instant Message

· Buddy Box


Who's Online
There are 258 guests and 1 registered user on-line.

Private Messages

 

Highway Call

Billboard

8/24/74


"When Richard Betts, lead guitarist and lead vocalist of the Allman Bros. Band announced a solo project, most people probably expected an extension of the Allmans. Well, Betts has surprised a lot of people with this superbly tasteful mix of country, blues and even hints of jazz. His guitar is as evident as always, but certainly not dominating, and his excellent lead vocals serve almost as backups rather than fronting the cuts. Relying on taste and skill rather than speed and volume, and utilizing sidemen such as Vassar Clements, John Hughey, the Poindexters, Chuck Leavell and Tommy Talton produces an even stronger overall effect. One side with vocals and one with two long, masterful instrumentals, and we have one of the finest LPs of the year. Best cuts: "Long Time Gone," "Rain," "Highway Call," "Hand Picked." Dealers: Betts is known as leader of Allmans. Use beautiful water color poster for display.."


Added:  Tuesday, December 18, 2001
Reviewer:  Lana
Score:
hits: 9800
Language: eng

  

[ Back to reviews index ] [ Post comment ]

Posted by PaulinVBeach on Feb 23, 2011 - 12:23 PM
Your rating:

Highway Call has been since its release a go to album for me - I spun this wax hot and fast on the air for a decade. It was an honor to be able to bring this out and play it especially in the 1980's. Since the moment I heard the notes jumping from the needle I've hoped and prayed Dickie would do another in the same genre and tour acoustically. How hot would that be he and Chuck, Sam Bush, Jerry Douglas, and a bunch of top players? Actually listening to this right now brought me out here while thinking of Red Dog - let nature sing....I hope he finds his way over to Rose Hill - seems fitting to me. Paul Journey Home

Posted by greggp on Feb 02, 2007 - 10:49 PM
Your rating:

Saw the Highway Call Tour in Providence, RI in 73. Great show and album! Long Time Gone is my favorite. Great Lead by Dickey and pedal steel by late John Hughey. Phenomenal licks at end by both John & Hughey!

Posted by wilaford on Apr 17, 2006 - 12:39 PM
Your rating:

I saw the Highway Call Tour at the famous Warehouse in New Orleans with a group of friends back in the early 70's. We enjoyed the show immensely! God Bless Dickey Betts!

Posted by Anonymous on Sep 21, 2005 - 05:41 PM
Your rating:

I don't know how I came about obtaining the original vinyl around 75 or 76, but I'm sure glad I did. Since then it has always been one of my favorite albums. I kept my turntable over the years, which I still have today, specifically to play this one. I've just now ordered the CD so I can listen to it in my car. I can't think of any better cruisin' music. Dickey Betts' guitar is unmistakable on this gem, but it was my first introduction to the fiddle of the recently-passed Vassar Clements, who I later followed closely, and my endoctrination into Chuck Leavell, that really made this album special. Out of all his albums (CDs or whatever), I think this one is the most honest and believable. It will always remain in my favorites collection.

Posted by RobbinJaye on Dec 02, 2003 - 07:18 PM
Your rating:

This was my first and is my favorite Dickey Betts Album! I am so glad I have found others out there who are even familiar with this album!! It's great to share the same taste in excellent music!!

Posted by allmanned on Aug 06, 2003 - 10:45 PM
Your rating:

SEEN THE HIGHWAY CALL TOUR BAYFRONT CENTER ST PETE FLA

Posted by Anonymous on Jun 20, 2002 - 08:51 PM
Your rating:

This is an AWESOME album!! Vasser.. The Rambones.. all stunning. It would be incredible to hear Dickey do any of these tracks live (saw him at BB King's last year and in Dover this year. Wow!). Long Time Gone, Rain and especially the title track Highway Call. This is some of the best music I've ever heard. My dad bought the album when it debuted and I've had it since he past away 20 years ago. He was also a big fan. I recently found the CD online and I'm still listening to it. "DICKEY... Do Highway Call in Clinton, NJ on 7/14!!! :-) Sincerely, Mike
 

 Home · Tour Dates · Guest Book · Forum · Links · Pictures 

Privacy | Terms of Service

All content is copyright 2009 Betts Back Alley unless otherwise noted and may not be downloaded, copied, or used in any way without prior written permission.

Don't click or your IP will be banned